Posted on

Catching up

Hey guys, it’s been a while and I’m sure you’re wondering what I’ve been up to. Like I said before, I’ve just moved to New York City and am pursuing a Master’s at NYU. But let me take you back over some hair and beauty tips I learnt this summer.

Summer was all about keeping cool, which meant wearing my hair in a top knot a lot. Pretty simple: flip your hair forward, tie it in a pony then grab another hairtie (“woogies” as we call them in Trinidad) and twist it into a bun. Two hairties makes the bun tighter and more centered. Smooth with water and gel. The best gel for slicking back hair, I find, is Shea moisture curling soufflé. It is organic, moisturizing and not hardening or drying. If you don’t have an effective gel, slick back your hair with water. And wrap a scarf around it until you are ready to leave the house. Top knots are great for Trinidad’s hot weather. They make my mom happy because I don’t look “unkempt” and since I need to drive to get around Trinidad, I don’t want to worry about an Afro obstructing my rear view. Lol.

My other style for the summer was the mini-twist. I kept them in about 3 weeks and journeyed to Barbados with them. For this style, I liked my kinky-curly curling custard. It gives a more flexible hold for my twists. It holds more moisture in my hair than other gels,which is important because it’s not as easy to moisturize a long-term style. Every now and again I had to retwist and the back got a bit matted by the end. I was in Barbados for crop over, which included Foreday morning, a march through the streets late at night where you party covered in paint and mud. To protect my style I used common sense: bobby pins and bandanas. The bandana also helped to absorb my sweat. But my hair still got a little messy that night especially since the party ended at the beach. I tried to keep my head above the water but the back of my hair suffered. Stay tuned for pictures from Barbados, travel beauty tips and more on Crop-Over. I can’t wait to tell you how I put together my look for Grand Kadooment.
Xox
Daria

About Daria-Ann

Daria-Ann Martineau was born and raised in Trinidad and Tobago. She received an MFA in poetry writing from NYU. She is an alumna of the Callaloo Creative Writing Workshop, The Saltonstall Arts Colony and the Bread Loaf Writers Conference. Her work has been published in The Collagist, Narrative Magazine and Kinfolks Quarterly, among others. In 2014, she was named one of Narrative's "30 below 30" and her poem, "Mine" was chosen as one of their "Top Five Poems of the Week" for 2013-14. She lives in Washington, DC.

2 responses to “Catching up

  1. seawoman

    Hey Daria:
    I FINALLY got s chance to check your blog and I must say, it’s a refreshing point of view. BTW Your hair looks cute!
    Thanks sooooo much for showing love on my site. I’ve done some major overhauling, made it more user friendly and would love you to visit and let me know what you think.

    I would highly recommend you submit something to OUTLISH Magazine (their roots are in T n t). Go to my site and you’ll find it under RECENT POSTS or by using the SEARCH box.

    Your Bajan sista
    Sandra aka Seawoman

    PS If you’re on FB, please join Caribbean Writers group which is my link to Seawoman’s Writing Opps.
    http://seawoman.wordpress.com/
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/caribbeanwriters/

Leave a Reply

