Posted on

Welcome back

Hey guys. It’s been a long hiatus. I have had a crazy summer filled with beauty- and other- lessons learned. Fall has had a no-less-hectic start. I have just relocated to New York City where I am pursuing a Master’s of Fine Arts in poetry writing at NYU. Y’all thought I just wrote hair stuff huh?

However things have been hectic. I am staying on my big sister’s couch until I find my own apartment. She lives on the third floor of a walk up and running up and down New York from apartment to apartment while trying to stay on top of class work has been a lot. I am a little tired.

Currently, though, I am on my way to the Mississippi Delta area for a family get together with my boyfriend. (His family, not mine). As I write to you I am looking forward to the slower pace of life I anticipate down south. I have always enjoyed visiting New York on weekends and family vacations. However, as a place to live, the city still has to grow on me.

Still, being thousands of feet in the air, away from the hustle has made me stop and think: I am in a great place. 2012 has been an incredible year. I have been lucky enough to travel to places like scotland, england and Barbados. I have love and a wonderful, crazy family and I am at NYU facing my biggest fears in order to pursue my dream as a writer. Things could not be better.

More information on my summer travels will be coming shortly. In the meantime, count your blessings, curlies and know I haven’t forgotten you.
Love,
Daria and Angela

About Daria-Ann

Daria-Ann Martineau was born and raised in Trinidad and Tobago. She received an MFA in poetry writing from NYU. She is an alumna of the Callaloo Creative Writing Workshop, The Saltonstall Arts Colony and the Bread Loaf Writers Conference. Her work has been published in The Collagist, Narrative Magazine and Kinfolks Quarterly, among others. In 2014, she was named one of Narrative's "30 below 30" and her poem, "Mine" was chosen as one of their "Top Five Poems of the Week" for 2013-14. She lives in Washington, DC.

Leave a Reply

