Posted on

Update on Friday’s style

DC was a record-breaking 106 yesterday and my 1940’s hair stood up pretty well. I was in New York, preparing for my move there, when I heard someone complain about the heat and I thought: This is nothing. You’re further North and your city was not built on a swamp!

I was in both cities yesterday and I tell you, DC wins. But a New York friend of mine cleverly tweeted that no amount of strategically placed baby powder was sufficient for the heat! Lmao! Only a West Indian would say that!

I guess if I can’t stand the heat I should get out of the country! Good thing I am going to Trinidad on Tuesday. Yeah it’s hot but at least there’s a nice island breeze!

See you in Trinidad! D & A

About Daria-Ann

Daria-Ann Martineau was born and raised in Trinidad and Tobago. She received an MFA in poetry writing from NYU. She is an alumna of the Callaloo Creative Writing Workshop, The Saltonstall Arts Colony and the Bread Loaf Writers Conference. Her work has been published in The Collagist, Narrative Magazine and Kinfolks Quarterly, among others. In 2014, she was named one of Narrative's "30 below 30" and her poem, "Mine" was chosen as one of their "Top Five Poems of the Week" for 2013-14. She lives in Washington, DC.

Leave a Reply

